Fave book now in trade paperback

I was in Barnes and Nobles to get a pattern from a book that I have but can’t find anywhere (I can’t stand that!) and on the table I saw my favorite book in trade paperback, Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett.  If you like historical fiction you have got to give this book a try.  I have read other Follett books and have never really been impressed with them.  This was a pure fluke, but as he explains in the introduction of this edition you can see the long love he has held of cathedrals and that love is reflected in his characters.

I’ve really gotten into audiobooks this past year and have had a run of bad luck with them recently, but suddenly my two of my last three have been fantastic and the third was good.

1.  The Great Gatsby read by Tim Robbins – He does an amazing job at bringing this book to life.

2.  To Kill a Mockingbird read by Sissy Spacek – This is one of my favorite books of all time.  I read it at least once a year and get something from it each time.  Have you ever read a book and had a soundtrack going in your mind for a particular character.  Spacek embodies Scout in my mind.

3.  The Historian by Kostova – this book was merely good in comparison with the others, but compared to most it was pretty good as well.  I read this book awhile ago and felt that the back and forth was a little hard to read (nevermind those italics throughout the book) so I gave up about 100 pages into the book.  So many people told me what an amazing audiobook this was that I decided to give it a try.  It was very good and the audio does such a good job sorting out the different voices.

Leave a Reply

