KY State Fair Project

If you have read my blog previously then you know about my entrelac ambitions.  I learned how to do the entrelac pattern through a class at my LNS on a gorgeous hat.  I started on the scarf and …

 Well, I had these high ambitions (isn’t that always the start of a huge downfall?) that I would finish my scarf before the summer was out, so to make me meet this deadline I decided I would enter the Kentucky State Fair in the Knitted Hat and Scarve competition.  Believe it or not I actually made my deadline of the beginning of July to finish the project.  To prove it here is a pic:

Entrelac Scarf - Completed

Now all that needs to be finished is the blocking, which I am going to have to do in three sections.  Due to the fact taht the Noro Silk Garden, while gorgeous, can go from fingering weight to worsted and back again and the additional factoid that I went from a tight knitter to a loose one overnight while working on this project, no two spots are the same width.  Therefore, I am having to make sure I pin it tightly and steam it hard.  One good thing that came out of this ferocious blocking is that my bag which I thought was really ugly previously has not flattened out and no longer needs to be backed.  Here is a blocking pic:

Entrelac Scarf - Blocked

Now that the scarf was out of the way I focused on the brim of the hat thinking it would be a piece of cake.  Alas, my foolish dreams came to naught.  I rolled it, folded it, twisted it, anything you can think of I probably did it!  Nothing looked right, so I took the drastic route and cut the brim in half.  I carefully pulled back 2 rows of stitches and then started binding off as loose as I could possible make it and it looked TERRIBLE!  So, now I have to remake the freakin’ hat.  This totally sucks because I am working on my Christmas and July project and now won’t be able to finish that dern thing because of it. AARGH!

 

Leave a Reply

