Double Knitting

I went and took a class at my LYS (I love all their classes and learn new techniques, so I take a bunch of classes!) to learn how to double knit.  It was a little confusing, but then we only got to the third row.  Sarah, our instructor, (who was awesome!) was going to teach us how to do a houndstooth potholder (mine is going to be brown and pink).  This is the first time that they have ever taught the class, so I think next time they will allow more than 1 two hour session.  I thought I would memorialize how to start, so when the time comes I can do it no problemo!  First, cast on half the stitches that you need in your dominant color, do it loosely!  Then, first knit into the stitch and then purl into the stitch.  Then slip knot your 2nd color (does this make it submissive) and start knitting with it.

 The reason I am taking this class is that my sister wants the scarf below.  It is completely her, but we will have to see how it goes.  If you are interested you can find the pattern here:  http://www.craftychickonline.com/Knit%20Star%20Scarf.htm

Leave a Reply

